SwedenBIO’s expert network – from words to action

The SwedenBIO expert network consists of five working groups and five task forces. These form the engine of SwedenBIO’s special way of working – to identify, analyze and solve the challenges facing the industry with the help of its members. What we push for decision-makers to change, we also have our own initiatives. When political processes take time, we are the blowtorch that makes things happen.

Our working groups and task forces are represented by the entire membership, from small to large companies and by both CEOs and senior staff in business development, research, production and policy/communication.

Research and Development Working Group

Works to strengthen Sweden as a research nation and to promote greater collaboration between industry, academia and healthcare.

Anna Sandström

Chair: Anna Sandström, Head of Science Policy and Relations Europe, AstraZeneca
Contact: Anna.Sandstrom(a)astrazeneca.com

Office manager: Maja Neiman (SwedenBIO)


  • Anna Sandström (AstraZeneca)
  • Daniel Martinez Molina (Pelago Bioscience)
  • Jon Tsai (Sanofi)
  • Karin von Wachenfeldt (Truly Translational)
  • Sara Gunnerås (Karolinska Institutet Science Park)
  • Stefan Nilsson (Lipigon Pharmaceuticals)

Business Development and Finance Working Group

Works to increase business development skills among member companies and improve the business climate and economic conditions for the life science industry in Sweden.

“In 2021, we developed a business development course specifically tailored for CEOs of smaller companies. We also updated SwedenBIO’s guidelines for communication when listing a company.”
Christina Herder

Chair: Christina Herder, Acting CEO Idogen AB. Contact: Christina.herder(a)idogen.com

Secretary: Frida Eriksson (SwedenBIO)


  • Anders Eriksson (Spotlight Stock Market)
  • Björn Fahlen (Redeye)
  • Göran Conradsson (Bulb Intelligence)
  • Ingrid Heath (Adlersson Heath)
  • Ingrid Teigland Akay (Hadean Ventures)
  • Iris Öhrn (Business Region Göteborg)
  • Jonas Brambeck (Industrifonden)
  • Ola Lidström (Bird & Bird)
  • Viktor Drvota (Karolinska Development)
  • Benjamin Nordin (ABG Sundal Collier)

Working group on process development and production

Works to strengthen competence in process development and production and works to make Sweden an attractive country for manufacturing companies. Working in 2022 on, among other things, production conditions for vaccines, ATMP and skills supply.

“I see it as my task to highlight production in the life sciences. Manufacturing is a direct continuation of research and development and therefore a natural part of the whole chain.”
Janet Hoogstrate

Chair: Janet Hoogstraate, CEO, NorthX Biologics
Contact: Janet.HOOGSTRAATE(a)nxbio.com
Office manager: Marjo Puumalainen (SwedenBIO)


  • Anders Wikström (Biotage)
  • Lena Romander (Pfizer)
  • Andreas Gretander (Phase2Phase)
  • Helene Fehrm (APL)
  • Maria Lundin Johnson (Recipharm)
  • Fredrik Ringvide (AstraZeneca)
  • Nicolaas Schipper (RISE)
  • Peter Hagwall (Cytiva)
  • Jenny Reimer (Novavax)
  • Inger Grunden (Valneva)

Public Affairs and Communication Working Group

Works to increase knowledge in society about the life science industry and its conditions in Sweden and monitors the policy decisions that affect the sector.

Chair: Joachim Alexandersson, Public Affairs & Communication Manager, Merck Group
Contact: joachim.alexandersson(a)merckgroup.com

Office manager: Jessica Martinsson (SwedenBIO)


  • Björn Arvidsson (STUNS)
  • Malin Appelgren (Paues Åberg Communications)
  • Charlotte Edenius (Gesynta Pharma)
  • Emma Hallenberg (Sahlgrenska Science Park)
  • Marie Gårdmark (Regsmart Life Science)
  • Harald Borgeke (BioArctic)

Clinical trials working group

The mission of the Clinical Trials Group is to monitor and influence the interface between the life science industry and healthcare. Clinical trials are a central theme, but the group also deals with issues related to biobanks, quality registers and health data.

Chair: Adam Szulkin, Scientific Ecosystem Partner, Roche
Contact: adam.szulkin(a)roche.com

Office manager: Maja Neiman, SwedenBIO


  • Thomas Olin (Vice President) (Kancera)
  • Andreas Fasth (Ilya Pharma)
  • Anna Fahlgren (East Sweden Medtech)
  • Shadi Abbas (Sirona Group)
  • Sandra Gunnarsson (CTC AB)

Task forces

AMR – reports to R&D

  • Helén Fält (QureTech Bio)
  • Jonas Fuks (Pfizer)
  • Marjo Puumalainen (SwedenBIO)
  • Lisa Sandberg (Scandinavian Biopharma)
  • Jan Holmbäck (Lipidor)

Sustainability – reports to the PA

  • Alexandra Hoegberg (SwedenBIO)
  • Charlotte af Klercker (Business Sweden)
  • Cecilia Nord (Sobi)
  • Oskar Bosson (BioArctic)
  • Mattias Lindberg (Bird & Bird)
  • Emilia Hertzberg (Sahlgrenska Science Park)
  • Jonathan Gromark (BioGaia)
  • Lina Olsen Boreson (SmiLe Incubator)
  • Petra Duprez (Biotage)
  • Maria Ericson (Baxter International)
  • Anna Lundquist (Xbrane)
  • Frida Eriksson (SwedenBIO)

ATMP – reports to PUT

  • Johan Hyllner (AstraZeneca)
  • Kerstin Falck (Pfizer)
  • Jan Nilsson (CombiGene)
  • Catarina Flyborg (Cytiva)
  • Petter Björquist (VERIGRAFT)
  • Eva-Karin Gidlund (NorthX Biologics)
  • Ted Fjällman (Flerie Invest)

Intellectual property (IP) – reporting to R&D

  • Johanna Bergh (AWA)
  • Jörgen Linde (Zacco)
  • Ylva Skoglösa (Aera)
  • Einar Pontén (Lipum)
  • Susanna Myhre (AstraZeneca)
  • Annika Unge (Bergenstråhle)
  • Emily Chamberlain (AWA)
  • Per Hedman (Cirio)
  • Peter Åsberg (Disruptive Pharma)
  • Jessica Martinsson (SwedenBIO)

Medicines Agency Dialogue Forum

  • Anna Fahlgren (East Sweden Medtech)
  • Andreas Fasth (ILYA Pharma)
  • Jennie Ekbeck (Umeå Biotech Incubator)
  • Karin Gedda (Isofol)
  • Maja Neiman (SwedenBIO)

SwedenBIO courses

Strategy and business development for life science leaders:

  • Course leader Ingrid Heath (AdlerssonHeath)

Drug Development ATMP:

  • Program Committee: Eva-Karin Gidlund (NorthX Biologics)

Validation competence network:

  • Sandra Sveder (MPya Sci&Tech)

CMC Competence Network:

  • Emelie Gralberg (MPya Sci&Tech)

Get involved in our expert network!

Participating in one of SwedenBIO’s working groups or task forces means that you actively contribute to strengthening the life science sector in Sweden and you have the opportunity to influence which issues the organization should pursue. You will also have access to an invaluable network of other professionals from all parts of the life science sector. The working groups meet about four times a year.

Would you like to join a working group or task force?

Contact info@swedenbio.se with a brief description of yourself and which working group or task force you would like to join, and your request will be forwarded to the right person in the Secretariat. Your company must be a member of SwedenBIO.