BioArctic winner of this year’s SwedenBIO Award

For the 12th year in a row, SwedenBIO awards the prize to a company that has distinguished itself by contributing to societal benefits that emphasize the importance of a successful life science industry in Sweden.

Strong collaborations with both academia and global pharmaceutical companies and a high level of scientific ambition have given this year’s winners a portfolio of innovative projects for the treatment of central nervous system diseases. A field where medical and societal needs are growing.

Since its inception in 2003, the internationally acclaimed company has been built up and skillfully financed by dedicated founders and an equal management team to be listed on Nasdaq Stockholm Mid Cap in 2017. The listing is one of the largest issues in Swedish biotechnology since 2000.

The company’s journey has included extensive research collaborations, bringing together university and industry expertise to address the need for treatment in areas such as Alzheimer and Parkinson. Diseases where the lack of drugs affecting the underlying pathology is high.

– It is a great honor for all of us at BioArctic to receive this year’s SwedenBIO Award. We are pleased that our successes are being recognized. The award is a confirmation of BioArctic’s contribution to the continued positive development of the life science industry in Sweden, says Gunilla Osswald, CEO of BioArctic AB.

SwedenBIO CEO Jonas Ekstrand says the company is an excellent example of the great synergies that can be created when research in different sectors can effectively collaborate to find solutions to medical challenges.

– We are pleased to give this year’s SwedeBIO Award to BioArctic. It is hoped that the company’s research will lead to patients having access to disease-modifying treatment for Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease, creating value for families and society.

The nominated companies for the SwedenBIO Award 2018 were Bioarctic, Galenica, Gedea Biotech, Hansa Medical, Ilya Pharma, Isconova / Novavax, Scandinavian Biopharma, Verigraft, Wilson Therapeutics and Xintela.

The award is given to an exemplary company that has made a special contribution and brought positive attention to the industry.
The prize is the industry’s own award and consists, in addition to the honor, of a traveling prize and two delegate places to the Nordic Life Science Days 10-12 September 2018(

This year’s prize is the twelfth of its kind and is awarded together with the prize sponsor HealthCap. Previous winners include Oncopeptides, Alligator Bioscience, Recipharm, Orexo, Affibody, Vitrolife, Aerocrine, BioInvent, Cellavision, Medivir and Gyros.

The jury
The winner is chosen by the SwedenBIO board: Lars Adlersson, Six Year Plan, Eva Sjökvist Saers, APL, Sarah Fredriksson, P.U.L.S., Kirsti Gjellan, Sobi, Magnus Björsne, AstraZeneca, Per Samuelsson, HealthCap, Lotta Ljungqvist, GE, Carl-Johan Spak, Recipharm and Johan Brun, Pfizer.

Lars Adlersson, Chairman of SwedenBIO,, 0706 666 236.

Read more on MyNewsDesk