Nominate for the Athena Prize 2015!

Where is the best clinical research in Sweden today? Tell us by nominating your candidate for the Athena Prize, Sweden's largest prize for clinical research.

Clinical research and innovations are crucial for medical progress in healthcare. They are also important for strengthening Sweden’s competitiveness.

The Athena Prize has been established to highlight the need for clinical research of high scientific quality in collaboration between health care, academia and industry. The winner receives a research grant of SEK 150 000.

Time to nominate!

Examples of projects that can be rewarded include the development and improvement of diagnostics, treatment or prevention. It may also involve new methods, techniques or products that improve healthcare. One requirement is that the research has taken place in close collaboration between healthcare, academia and industry.

Who do you think stands out as one of Sweden’s best clinical researchers? You can nominate until June 14.

Nominate your candidate here.

About the Athena Prize

The Athena Prize is awarded in 2015 for the eighth year. Read about last year’s winner, Alex Karlsson Parra.

The prize is sponsored by Dagens Medicin and Vinnova. SwedenBIO is a partner together with Forte, Swedish Medtech, the Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions, Lif and the Swedish Research Council.

The winners are selected by a jury with broad representation from healthcare, research and industry. This year’s jury includes: Johanna Adami, (Chair of the jury), Head of Health Division, VINNOVA, Håkan Billig Chairman, Research Delegation of the Swedish Medical Association, Bertil Guve, Director of the Center for Technology in Medicine and Health, KTH, Christina Herder, CEO, Dilaforette, Karin Heeroma, Medical Director, AstraZeneca, Jonas Rastad, Regional Director, Region Skåne, Nina Rehnqvist, Chairman of SBU, Göran Rydin, Head of Research, Envirotainer, Ewa Ställdal, Director General, Forte, Mats Ulfendahl, Secretary General, Scientific Council for Medicine and Health, Swedish Research Council, and Christina Kennedy, Editor-in-Chief, Dagens Medicin.

Read more about the award here.