Oncopeptides winner of the SwedenBIO Award 2017

For the eleventh time, the SwedenBIO Award was presented on Wednesday evening. This year's winner is Oncopeptides AB. They are awarded for their work in developing treatments for hematological cancer.

The justification reads:

In 2016, after many years of professional development work, Oncopeptides was able to present positive phase II results for the drug candidate Ygalo in patients with multiple myeloma, a serious form of blood cancer. Based on these clinical results, the company completed the definition of a full registration program, which was fully approved by the regulatory authorities in both the US and the EU. These successes formed the basis for the IPO in February 2017, which was one of the largest capital raises in Swedish biotech history. The capital base and broad ownership circle that the company has secured increases the possibility of staying in Sweden during the continued work of making a new and more effective treatment for myeloma and other types of blood cancer available to hard-to-treat patients all over the world.

The winner was announced at SwedenBIO’s early summer dinner on May 17.

The nominated companies for the SwedenBIO Award 2017 were AddLife, AMRA, Cormorant Pharma, Moberg Pharma, Oncopeptides, Pharmalink and Xvivo Perfusion.

The prize is the industry’s own award and consists, in addition to the honor, of a traveling prize and two delegate places to the Nordic Life Science Days 12-14 September 2017

The award is given to a company that has demonstrated extraordinary achievements and success in the life science industry over the past year and has contributed to increased interest in the industry.

This year’s prize is the eleventh of its kind and is awarded jointly with HealthCap. Previous winners include Alligator Bioscience, Recipharm, Orexo, Affibody, Vitrolife, Aerocrine, BioInvent, Cellavision, Medivir and Gyros.

The jury
The winner is chosen by the SwedenBIO board: Lars Adlersson, Six Year Plan, Eva Sjökvist Saers, APL, Sarah Fredriksson, Edvince, Yvonne Mårtensson, independent board member and advisor, Magnus Björsne, AstraZeneca, Per Samuelsson, HealthCap, Lotta Ljungqvist, GE, Carl-Johan Spak, Recipharm and Johan Brun, Pfizer.

Lars Adlersson, Chairman of SwedenBIO, lars.adlersson@swedenbio.se, 0706 666 236.